Up-Close with the NSL Teams

The 2016 Netball Super League (NSL) games are well underway and competition is definitely getting more intense by the week.

Fully kitted by FBT which is the NSL official apparel partner, the six elite teams competing in the league are Blaze Dolphins, Fier Orcas, Magic Marlins, Mission Mannas, Sneakers Stingrays and Tiger Sharks.

Are you familiar with the teams and players? Here we give you an up-close glimpse of the teams, their competitive edge and players:

Solid in attack and defense, the Dolphins are aiming to get back to the top of the table this year. National Captain Lin Qingyi Micky and Toh Wan Ling will guide from the back and is ably supported in the shooting circle by fellow national players Cassandra Soh and Chen Huifen. Wang Jing Qing continues as head coach and will be looking to bounce back from their fourth position in 2015.

Rookies of the league, expect a strong outfit from the runners-up of National League Division One last year. They missed out to the Stingrays by only two points in the National League final, so they have a lot to prove, knowing they are more than capable of rubbing shoulders with the seasoned teams. Natalie Long adds a wealth of experience to their shooting circle which will be crucial against some tough defense.

2015 Runners-Up Marlins know better than most what it takes to take top spot in the league. Title holders in 2011, 2012 and 2013, they looked like they were set to take it back last year but were played off the court by Sneakers Stingrays. The long serving and battling defenders Jean Ng and Premila Hirubalan are back in defence and will feed into some familiar national team hands including Kimberly Liim, Nur Aqilah Afiqah, Palela Liew and Yu Mei Ling. A very experienced side that also featured National Captain, Pearline Chan, Marlins will be eager to show their merit.

Mannas had a disappointing run in 2015, having to settle for fifth position in the league. They look to have a stronger line-up this year and will take the defeats of last season as key learnings to turn things around. Under the guidance of Singapore Sports School Senior Coach, Donna Blazey, Nurul Baizura takes charge on court once again with Chen Lili working hard in defense and National Players Jocelyn Ng and Melissa Teo in attack.

The Reigning champions will have to fight hard to repeat their 2016 feat. Coached by last year’s MVP Coach, Goh Seck Tuck, the team list has changed little so they’ll be hoping to carry their success over from the previous NSL and National League Division One and get off to a quick start. Solid from the back to the front of the court, Shina Teo – MVP for the M1 Sunfish last year, Captain Carmen Goh and National Shooter Yasmon Ho – will likely be key tacticians in the quest to take the title once more.

The Tiger Sharks were serious contenders in 2015 but could only take third place in the end. This year they are under the coaching guidance of both Hunag Po Chin and Joanne Loo with a view of roaring into the grand finals. Without a fewkey players this season, it will be up to Charmaine Soh, Grace Sim and Kwok Shuyi to lead by example and settle into their stride from the opening round to keep in the hunt. Hannah Broederlow, former New Zealand Under 21 player, who was impressive for Singapore Invitational Team during the 2015 Mission Foods Nations Cup will feature in the team too.